Cong Steps Up Campaign Last Week of Champawat Indirect Vote | Dehradun News


Dehradun: The Congress intensified its electoral campaign a week before the Champawat by-election. Voting for the by-election is scheduled for May 31 and the election campaign would end on the evening of May 29.
Former Chief Minister Harish Rawat, Opposition Leader Yashpal Arya, Congress State Leader Devender Yadav, Head of State Karan Mahara and former Minister Pritam Singh camped out in the constituency to campaigning for party candidate Nirmala Gahtori. In addition, a committee of three Congress MPs Manoj Tewari, Bhuvan Chand Kapri and Khushal Singh Adhikari has been active in the constituency for a fortnight.
Congress Head of State Karan Mahara said: “The people of Khatima, where CM Dhami was an MP for 10 years, did not accept him in the 2022 elections. He is now contesting from Champawat and I am convinced that here too he will face a crushing defeat. He claimed that on several occasions the BJP had flouted the standards of the Model Code of Conduct. “It reflects their desperation. Our candidate Nirmala Gahtori is a local who has been working for people for years and I am sure people will vote for her,” he added.
Meanwhile, Congress General Secretary (Organization) Mathura Dutt Joshi, who has also campaigned actively over the past week, told TOI: “Our party members are our star activists and it is inspiring to see that all the seniors made their presence felt. in the polling station.
In state elections held earlier this year, Dhami lost his traditional Khatima seat to his congressional rival. Later, Kailash Chandra Gahtori, the BJP MP from neighboring Champawat constituency, left his seat in favor of the CM.


FacebookTwitterinstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE


About Author

Comments are closed.